Mosque attacks in Lahore

The Undecided

Reaction score
Firstly I must say that I am not a Muslim, however, I am a student of all religions and a seeker of spiritual truth. I am posting this thread on the Islam forum because I would like to hear the Muslim perspective on the following. After hearing about the attacks on the two mosques in Lahore I became very sad. Apart from the many unnecessary deaths, the fact that the attacks took place in mosques is upsetting, holy places such as these where people go to worship, as they were when the attacks took place, should be the last place where violence takes place. I understand that the Ahmadi sect are not considered as Muslim by many in the Muslim world, because of their belief in a supposed prophet who came after Muhammed, and that this sect is banned from calling themselves Muslim in Pakistan, but surely there is room in this world for freedom of faith. Also, I would say that the people who attacked these people for being 'blasphemous' could not be considered as muslim, as I think a true muslim would not attack anyone while they attended their place of worship to pray. Referring here to the Qur'an 2:191. I am interested in opinions on the matter.

Peace be upon ALL. TU:D

It's a very sad state of affairs but many of these attacks are not based on religious beliefs, they are political in nature and of course in that region often tribal. Today gunmen in Pakistan killed a number of people in an hospital ... I can't begin to explain that level of hatred or insanity, because I don't understand it.

You can try and blame the leaders of these groups and say that they are the ones who are corrupting the youths, but that isn't enough. The youth buy into it willingly, because they also want to feel the power of infallibility. Giving divine mandate to your own side's makes you infallible. And once any man starts to think he is infallible, that is just a recipe for megalomania.