Slowly ending samsara

Fayebelle

Reaction score
Please remember that I'm new to Buddhism- but I had a thought this weekend and I wanted other opinions on it.

Lately, more and more animals are on the "protected" or "endangered" species list b/c their #'s are dwindling. Here in the West- more and more women are choosing not to have children or else to adopt rather than go thru actual pregnancy. Families that DO have children are more often keeping their families to 1 or 2 kids. Abortion is a choice that many women are accepting.

Could this be b/c more beings are acheiving enlightenment and therefore there is no need for them to be reincarnated? There are fewer species b/c they just aren't needed any longer? Maternal instinct is being altered so that there are not more children then necessary?

Just some thoughts I had- I'd appreciate any feedback.

Dear Fayebelle

hmm..interesting perspective from a multi-dimensional viewpoint and one I had not considered, it is a possibility as we continue to break the never ending wheel of reincarnation due to karma.

For sure the planet is going through great evolution and transition. The tree is dying due to its roots rotting with selfishness, so enlightened I feel not.

Humanity is killing itself like other cultures have done in the past, destroyed but its own hand.

But I will be interested in the strictly Buddhist view on this.

Love beyond measure

Sacredstar

Namaste Fayebelle,

thank you for the post and welcome to the forum.

it's an interesting question, to be sure, and one which lends itself to a few answers.

nominally, Buddhism is concerened with the Multiverse, as such, a lack of sentient beings on one particular planet, like earth, is fairly inconsequential.

a lot of this would be predicated on your own school of Buddhism and the particular Vehicle that you choose to practice. for instance, the Theravedan view is a bit more.. restricted, to this particular planet than the Varjayana view, by way of contrast.