Thoughts on a multi-religious community center / campus?

M

Many Rooms

Hi everyone, I am new to the Interfaith forums, so please forgive me in advance if I am not following certain rules with respect to new posts or new users.

I'd like to open a religious center in America that is welcoming and attractive to all faiths. I have both the funds and time and plan to do it in 2018.

The physical space aims to be a hub for interfaith dialogue and collaboration. We could host events, provide basic religious education, and support members in their programs and initiatives. And just be a comfortable place to gather and meet interesting people.

Imagine if Buddhists, Muslims, Christians, Protestants, Hindus, Jews, etc, of all ages could come together on a regular basis to learn from each other, interact, teach, share, and try to connect on principles and hopes that we share.

I expect there will always be those who wouldn't participate or may even oppose such an effort, but I also believe there are plenty of people - of all faiths - who would be interested. Our aim is to attract the latter, and build a critical mass, and spread our message.

I'd like to get this community's feedback and advice and participation. There are so many questions I have, such as:

-Which city do you think is best to host the first such center? If it were successful, I could foresee opening new locations around the world. My initial instinct is near a large, diverse college campus, since frankly speaking, young people seem more open to new ideas, and we could spread slowly to other locales. So I have been thinking about areas like Boston, the Bay Area, even Vancouver (though I am most comfortable and familiar with the States)

-What would be the "hook", so to speak, to attract people? I'd like it to be a community center that is more than just a place to come for an event and leave, but rather one where people wish to come on a regular and consistent basis