The thinker and the feeler

okieinexile

Reaction score
The thinker and the feeler
By Bobby Neal Winters

Those of you who are in education are probably familiar with something called the Myers-Briggs personality test. By means of the right questions, it divides humanity up into different personality types. There are a number ways in which is does this contrasting the Introvert with the Extrovert, the Judge with the Perceiver, the Sensor with the Intuitor, and the Thinker with the Feeler. I usually test out as an introverted, judging, intuiting feeler.

The fact that I am a feeler surprises a lot of people. They think that since I am a mathematician I should be a thinker because mathematicians are thinking all the time, supposedly in a cold, analytical way, but that is not what the technical term means. I am not an expert on this in any way, shape or form, but what it seems to mean in practice is that when push comes to shove, I will do what I feel is right rather than what I think is right. That is to say, I have a tendency to follow emotions rather than reasons. This is in spite of the fact I have noticed that the outcome is usually better when I force myself to be rational.

I’ve run into this mostly in interacting with students. A good, well-told sob-story will go miles with me. Lest any of my students should read this and think they can walk all over me, I have noticed the shoe prints and have set up safeguards in my class policies so that they don’t.

One of the people who has been surprised that I am a feeler is me. I grew up during the tail-end of the Cold War when science and math were still being supported by the government for the sake of the arms race. Scientific disciplines were where academic types were supposed to be while the arts and the humanities were nowhere.

Yet I’ve been attracted by poetry, by the lyrics of popular songs, by matters transcendental, and in some sense I’ve always been a writer even when I wasn’t writing.