"Jew" Thoughts about the word...

subculture_of_one

Reaction score
Hello all.

I am a professor of religion at a small midwest college and I've been noticing something I find interesting... Many (non-jewinsh) students are very hesitant to use the word 'Jew' in any context. Therefore, I start my section on Judaism by addressing the word- that it is not a 'bad word' but has been so demonized in US culture, that so many would rather say 'Jewish Person' or "Followers of Judaism". Same goes for the word 'Arab'. What are your thoughts?

I am particularly interested in the thoughts of other Jews, what have you noticed,if anything?

Sub

interesting. i wouldn't say: "he's a jew" but "he's jewish". i find it somewhat, i don't know, rough. americans do it a lot more. it could be something to do with how i like to hear english spoken; i *would* say "i'm a jew", though, although more likely "i'm jewish". i think part of it is the idea that "jewish" as an adjective is kind of subject to whatever spin the describer puts on it. it can be neutral, nice or nasty, it seems.

it seems to me, though, that if people are anxious to use the word at all, it could be because they are so aware that to be labelled as "jewish" is somehow pejorative or (as is more likely in the UK) embarrassing. one cultural organisation over here that has its main constituency in the secular and unaffiliated tends to use phrases like "diaspora culture" and "kosher culture" in a somewhat euphemistic manner which comes across feeling like the word "jewish" is uncool.

however, from what you're saying, it could be that as you're on a US campus, they're just scared of the PC police coming after them. in a country where there was a lawsuit over the word "niggardly", i wouldn't be at all surprised.

b'shalom

bananabrain

Very interesting! :D

I see your point about differentiating between 'I am a Jew' and 'I'm Jewish'