authors?

Vajradhara

One of Many
Reaction score
Namaste all,

there seems to be a disporportionate amount of authors on this site... that would probably be a "good thing" :)

so... the question is...

how many of you consider yourself to be either authors or aspiring authors?

as a general opener, what was it (if it can be codified) that persuaded you that writing was your path?

Vajradhara said:
Namaste all,

there seems to be a disporportionate amount of authors on this site... that would probably be a "good thing" :)

so... the question is...

how many of you consider yourself to be either authors or aspiring authors?

as a general opener, what was it (if it can be codified) that persuaded you that writing was your path?

Aspiring.

I started writing in high school. I realized that I was a good writer when my teacher gave me an A+ (remember those?) on a Romeo and Juliet paper.

And then reading Nabokov, especially Lolita, in college solidified my desire to write fiction.

CS Lewis also had a significant effect on my desire to write.

Not if I can help it. I have too many writing things to do at work :) Oh yea, and editing newsletters.

I tend to fall into writing tasks - e.g. my latest "write an abstract for a paper to be presented in March. No, I don't know what we should present - figure it out". I've done monthly columns for trade press before (computer reviews), and a couple of requested articles. But am I an author? Nope. I write when I need to, which tends to be often as the job requires it.

... Bruce (I may write, but I'm not an author)G

I've got a column in my church's District newsletter that appears every other month, and one in my local newpaper that appears every week. Then there is the book that I am hawking like a medicine show geek. And I am a mathematician for a living.

I'm an aspiring novelist - my main interest is in communcatnig ideas. :)